Editor and Publisher: Richard Mackie

Mission Statement: The Ormsby Review is a lively and pervasive Vancouver-based online journal devoted to the literature, arts, culture, and society of British Columbia. We find B.C. reviewers to review books written by B.C. writers concerning B.C. topics from B.C. publishers. Most of the books we review come from members of the ABPBC (Association of Book Publishers of BC), but we also review books that are privately printed, self-published in B.C., or published by B.C. writers at non-B.C. publishing houses. Ormsby’s mandate is to review major B.C. books from any source. Our accessible and authoritative reviews and essays, written by experts in their fields, are packaged as illustrated magazine articles.

The Ormsby Review works with writers, publishers, and literary professionals to promote books published by or about British Columbia in all its diversity. We include books by all authors, regardless of race, age, ability, sexual orientation, gender or gender identity, ethnicity, religion, political belief, marital or family status, and/or status as an Indigenous, Métis, or Inuit person.


The Ormsby Review is named in honour of Margaret Ormsby, a trailblazing academic who was born in British Columbia. As a UBC historian, she wrote the first widely-acknowledged modern history of the province, British Columbia: A History (Toronto: Macmillan of Canada, 1958).

The Ormsby Review originated in September 2016 as part of Alan Twigg’s BC BookLook to provide a forum of in-depth reviews and essays regarding British Columbia, with an advisory board consisting of Jean Barman, Wade Davis, Robin Fisher, Cole Harris, Hugh Johnston, Patricia Roy, David Stouck, and Graeme Wynn.

Reviews edited by Richard Mackie were hosted on the BC BookLook site until The Ormsby Literary Society was registered under the B.C. Societies Act on April 30, 2018. The board members are: Byron Sheardown (president), Joanne Arnott, Trevor Carolan, Daniel Francis, Ron Hatch, Imogene Lim, Rachel Rose, Renee Sarojini Saklikar, LiLynn Wan, and Eldon Yellowhorn (treasurer). The Ormsby Review has been fully independent of BC BookLook and BC Bookworld since November 1, 2019.

In addition to book reviews, The Ormsby Review website contains portals to a number of literary, cultural, and educational organizations: The Association of Book Publishers of BC; The BC and Yukon Book Prizes; Quills Poetry Magazine; Kumtuks; Thompson Rivers University; The Graduate Liberal Studies programme at Simon Fraser University;  The New Orphic Review. Our Honorary Patron is Yosef Wosk.

The Ormsby Literary Society thanks

  for funding.


Get The Ormsby Review delivered to your inbox!